Only…

It was such a silent sigh no one even heard her

“only in our dreams”

I can only catch dreams it seems

in candle light

Every time I wish on a star it veers to the right

before I can finish my plea

“only in our dreams”

where he rides afar

looking at the same lonesome star

and wondering

were she real

would she be

the one who held a love for me

“only in our dreams” she sighs

for these days guys

rarely look to the skies

their heads are buried in their device

look in my eyes wouldn’t that be nice

“only in our  dreams”

where lips do meet

eyes would wish to greet

the dawn together

always so

I will sleep and dream

and hope for love

where we’d never let go…

in our dreams

Thanks to Keith at Carry on Tuesday for weekly hosting and giving a prompt. This from a movie “Only in our dreams”

4 thoughts on “Only…

  1. This is beautiful. The refrain works very well for you here, almost like a modern fairy tale. I love the choice of wording in this line:
    “would she be

    the one who held a love for me”
    So much more powerful – and tangible – than “would she be the one who loved me.”
    Excellent. 🙂

Leave a Reply

