The Hidden land of Iccilia (part 2) #Ren

Welcome to week 2 of the October Blogfest – Rule of Three

“Rule of Three is a month-long fiction blogfest, where we’ve created a ‘world’,the town of Renaissance, and challenged you to create a story within it. The story will feature 3 characters of your creation, who will be showcased on your blog on 3 different Wednesdays, following the Rule of Three. The 4th Wednesday, we’ll have the culminating scene.”

****


You do not know me. The forlorn people of Renaissance have named me  Magrid “unwanted one”.

What no one knows is the life I was born into.

What ignorance!  They do not know Gallia; her magnificent hands control magic, her unending beauty is unmatched.  I wish I could have seen into her future …perhaps … the gift was a mistake… oh Iccilia, my heart is lost.

This is my story: I remember the day Raphalia, the princess of Iccilia, was born.  People danced in the courtyards, my king held a feast, and my sister chose me, a barren woman, to be the nurse, the companion of the treasure of Iccilia.  Her name  means “precious one.”  She is more precious than life.

This land grew mighty and fruitful with her birth for she carried magic.  None knew the magic’s source.  Years ago I was given a gift by a strong and powerful man of magic who sought my beauty and fell in love with me.  He could not fill my womb but he could give me a gift.  I can establish magic in people or living things.  It may not seem like a powerful gift but I assure you it is!

Nurturling is growing power from within.  I can make people stronger, wiser, full of magic.  I magnified Raphalia’s natural gifts: wisdom, healing,  and courage.  The wizard Gorl has used her gifts to make himself strong.  It is a dark magic that Gorl manipulates.

The wizard does not know,  no one does,  Raphalia wields greater power.  Yes – she and the three stones .  One is set in the ring from her father;  the beautiful “Bostia”, healing, a green stone that matches her eyes.  Then there is  “Amoria”, beauty in red, she possesses love and wisdom. The largest stone “Stalwa” is blue.  He is powerful; in the right hands, rendering peace but in the wrong hands…

There’s a bond between those four even I do not understand – they communicate.  Raphalia knew how to hear them even as a little one and sadly saw her future.  She hid two of the stones so the wizard would not have them when she was taken.  I need the help of wings to search this barren world, call the stones, free the princess, and the land of Comamoria.

A bird comes to our land.  What he is I know not.  Until one day, I realize that a bird holds my country’s fate in his claw.   This Bird that comes with questions and revelation…

I notice as Telmark polishes, he changes into a man. “Telmark !!!”   The prince jumps back from the cane and a bird reappears.   “Look, what is your power? ”   Telmark birdlike cocks his head.

He polishs the cane discovering a glowing red stone.   He feels his heart pounding, growing stronger in Love.  Love that he is acquiring for the lost of Comamoria.

“Thank you Amoria for being my companion.  Telmark you have displayed your worth for the stones only reveal themselves among worthy hearts. ”

‘Please call me Bird until this is over.   I am unworthy of  the stone’s favor.’

“We have  one more stone – Stalwa.  We must find him soon.”  As I say the name, I feel a pain, a sorrow.

‘What is it Magrid?’

“I feel a surge of pain.”

“Time is shorter than I thought. Telmark – be swift!”

I chant:

“I take the light and nature gives you sight.

In your form tragic you now feel magic.

Take flight prince’s choice. Stalwa lift your voice”

***This is part two of a four part series.

Here is the link to part one

link to part three

The prompt for this week was ( one or more)

  • Someone is killed or almost killed
  • One of the characters is revealed to be not who or she is – this prompt was our choice
  • A relationship becomes complicated
  • A character lies to another on an important matter

Word count: 580

17 thoughts on “The Hidden land of Iccilia (part 2) #Ren

  1. Sorry I’m late – last week I worked my way from end of list to beginning, this week from first to last.
    I know I’m jumping ahead, but already wondering what will be revealed at the end 🙂

  2. I read both, and got caught up in the mysticism. The voice of this is lyrical, evocative. As a character driven reader, I’m engaged with these two completely.

    ………dhole

Leave a Reply

