The Hidden Land of Iccilia (part 1) #wip #ren

Welcome to week 1 of the October Blogfest – Rule of Three

“Rule of Three is a month-long fiction blogfest, where we’ve created a ‘world’,the town of Renaissance, and challenged you to create a story within it. The story will feature 3 characters of your creation, who will be showcased on your blog on 3 different Wednesdays, following the Rule of Three. The 4th Wednesday, we’ll have the culminating scene.”

We had just established this blog Lady’s Knight to post fantasy poetry and stories that we are writing together and this prompt came up. We have been writing a story that we initially titled “The Lady and the Bird.” We have had to tailor the story back to allow for only three characters. Rule of Three has helped us give the story a foundation which we hope to expand.

Thanks to the organizers of #Ren for this October Blogfest – enjoy Rule of Three.


***

Man to bird by spell

Dreams by Night in daylight flight

Bird deeds honor well

********

“No… Don’t.” I yell in my bird voice. I watch a scoundrel taking advantage of a young peasant. My sword would have taken care of this in one thrust.

I never appreciated my position as a man or a trained swordsman until one day that hag didn’t like my proud demeanor. “Prince Telmark you are a man no more. No one will miss you when you are banished to Renaissance the land in a desert.”

This is my story:  I was prince of  Reylm.  I was supposed to protect my father’s kingdom. I was a poor representative; I cared little for loss of life, the struggles of the poor. My only concern was good ale and sport.

Then I got what I deserved I was demoted from man to a bird.

When I first arrived in this wasteland, I was angry, bitter. Then, one day, I heard a cry for help. I flew to the very edge of Assart, the great forest. There I found a hurt boy who  remembered nothing. I looked for food and shelter and nursed him with the healing waters of Espadon.  I found a family who needed his strength. He gave me a gift. I told him -“Keep this hidden for one day there may be need.” His eyes seemed to say.”  I know you’re more than a bird.

I have been haunted by dreams. The woman is beautiful, kind, wise.  We walk toward each other but when she tries to speak she’s consumed by a sandstorm. A hand-like cloud grabs my cloak and chokes me.

The dream leads me to Magrid  a woman whom no one trusts. Magrid is old and wizened.  They say she lived in a castle. How can that be? There are no kingdoms for hundreds of centiyums.

“Greetings woman of  wisdom.”   surprised she smiles.  ” I seek your help.” She tells me a tale of lore.

” Schiavona is an evil manifestation of the wizard Gorl. As a young wizard, Gorl sought the favor of  the king of Iccilia. As he got a little power, he decided to cast spells on this beautiful place – nothing worked. Then he decided if he could not cast a spell that he would take our beloved princess – Raphalia.”

 “Princess Raphalia I know you” I whispered.

“With the magic of the Raphalia, under his control, he was able to hide  Iccilia and lock the inhabitants in  Comamora. They sleep under the sand.”

“I have seen Raphalia in my dreams Magrid.”

Magrid looks inside. “What were you before?”

“A prince,” I shuddered

“Then it is time Raphalia. Only a Prince can free you but it seems only a bird can reach you. Telmark you must prepare – for this will not be a battle of feathers and blood but of heart.”

“The Heart …” I moaned

“Yes” said Magrid sternly “follow your heart.  Use it to find Raphalia she will know what to do.”

“You don’t understand; I was a heartless  prince.”

“I see your heart Telmark,” smiles Magrid.  “It has grown.  You have cared for  many.  I do not know if it will be enough for what you must endure. Use these last moments wisely.”

“I will follow your words Magrid . I am here to serve you until you release me. Love …I have not been a servant of Love before.”

REN3

Please read on week two

week three

Here are the prompts:

  • There is an argument
  • There is fear of an impending misfortune
  • There is a humorous circumstance
  • Someone might fall in love – this prompt was our choice!!!
  • word count: 569 words
16 thoughts on “The Hidden Land of Iccilia (part 1) #wip #ren

  1. Hi..sorry to be a stickler, but could you remove this until the actual posting days? It’s this Wednesday or Thursday. This way, everyone will be onboard at the same time.

    Thanks
    Stuart
    Tale Spinning

  2. OK, very cool. As I’m reading along the posts, I see I need to start keeping a list of the additions to the landscape and such, then try to fix it all in a timeline. This will be interesting for me. Lots of work, but interesting.

  3. This is a note to say that I’ve been by to read your entry. As one of the judges, I don’t want to make any specific comments that could betray my judgement — keeps you guys in suspense for longer! 🙂 Suffice it to say that I’m truly enjoying all the different and creative takes on Renaissance and the Rule of 3!

    J.C.

  4. Stopping by on my way through the REN3 entries 🙂 Thanks for joining us, looks like you’re off to a good start! (As one of the hosts/judges, I’m trying to limit my comments so as not to unduly influence any opinions.)

  5. Wonderful images in the background, Lady’s Knight. I love a tale of the heartless prince transformed into something else until he ‘atones’ for his behavior. The whole Beauty and The Beast thing is ever a winning plot base. Love how you used the desert to manifest the evil wizard’s burying of the kingdom – I always enjoy when the locations tie in with the story…(I’m a geography nerd at heart…lol). Can’t wait to read the coming entry! ~ Nadja

Leave a Reply

